Firsts Inspirations

I have some more ideas of firsts I want to accomplish this next year:

  • Pull-ups – I’ve never been able to do pull-ups and have always wanted to do them. Plus it’ll be good training for my mud run
  • Volunteer at a race – I’ve intended to do this but just haven’t yet
  • First running streak – I’ll try to find a time that this works best (summer time, most likely)
  • Foam roll and stretch every day for a month (to make it habit)

If I think of more I will post them.

I don’t know if anyone else saw this, but this couple it amazing. They’re in their 60’s and ran a marathon everyday in 2013 across Australia. Oh, and they’re also vegan! http://www.runningrawaroundaustralia.com/ I would love to go to Australia one day and I can’t think of a better way to see it. Is anyone else vegan here? I keep hearing how energizing such a diet is, but honestly I don’t think I could do it. I love dairy products (and not just ice cream) and meat (I don’t crave carbs, I crave meat!). I eat very lean and minimally processed types of meat (mostly chicken) usually raised on more humane farms, but I enjoy an occasional burger. I’ve been able to link feeling kind of foggy and having headaches to not eating meat. It may have been the lack of protein. But I definitely set out to eat fresh fruits and vegetables. Yum. I have noticed feeling kind of bleh and low energy-obviously the increased sugar intake of the holidays.

I know it’s a little far ahead to be thinking, but I just keep having thought about running a marathon. It’s just keeps screaming in my face and I can’t ignore it. So tentatively I think I might run a marathon in 2015, the one that’s part of the same event as the half I’m doing. I think it will be tough training through the holidays but it gives me more excuse to eat cleaner and practice self control and moderation.

This amused me:

9ec4054f8e49b6fd513dee93234be6cf6d4bd361fefa3b25c55d875582bf04be

Leave a comment