A New Beginning

This week marks a very important week of my life.

I am starting afresh. It’s a new beginning for me.

I’m back on the bandwagon; I started a training plan for the 4th of July 5K (mostly to keep me on track and running), resumed going to the gym, and have cleaned up my diet.

I have a daily calorie distribution goal and am really set on clean eating.

Something I’ve learned is that, when it comes to food, I’m all of nothing. It’s a pain, but now that I’ve figured out my “problem”, I can accept it and move on. Basically, I have a hard time eating junk food in moderation. If I take that first slice of pizza, there will be at least a second. Don’t even get me started on cookies (seriously, I think there are 7 people in the world who can eat one cookie). And uncut, serve yourself desert is lethal. So I have to make a plan, set goals like: I am not allowed to eat desert at the “social gatherings” I go to this week. When there’s something special, I forget healthy eating and portion sizes and enjoy whatever for that gathering (just so long as it doesn’t turn into gluttony).

I think I found the right amount of daily calories to eat that is set regardless of my activity that day (although if I get too hungry and it was a longer exercise day, I will let myself eat some extra calories, like I did today).

Yesterday I went to the gym. I decided to do the exercises listed in the book I’m using a running plan from right now (Run Less, Run Faster). I’ve always kind of ignored them because I use other sources for strength moves. Well, they turned out to be great. I added some things to make my routine very balanced and I think I’m set. I have lost sooo much strength! Just doing 3×10 knee pushups was all my arms could take. I think it will take about 3-4 months to get back where I was. I’m ignoring where I was (and where everyone at the gym is) and focusing on what I need to do now.

My run today wasn’t actually great (didn’t go as planned, I was tired and hungry), so I made it easier and got ‘er done! 🙂

Apparently we’re having pizza for dinner tonight. Oh boy…..time to practice what I preach.

I was in a picture taking mood, so here you go 🙂

IMG_0051

Got my non-food reward jar ready

Massage tools are ready to start smokin'!

Massage tools are ready to start smokin’!

Leave a Reply

