Sick

Good Morning!
I haven’t really been able to run at all this week. Happy new year to me! On Tuesday, I went over to watch Little Dorrit with friends, planning to do an evening run, but my neck got really stiff and cramped and I couldn’t turn my head. So I planned on running Wednesday morning. Well I woke up only to feel yucky and discovered I had caught my sisters cold (love ya deer!). As I didn’t feel too terrible, I decided to just rest that day and run Thursday. Well Thursday came along and I decided a little easy run would be good to clear up my lungs (I had no cough so I considered it safe). I set out to do a very easy 4 miler, but decided to run a different path that was a little over 3 miles. Well about .75 mi. in I started to feel very tired. So in the end I ran 2 miles. Oh well. I was pretty sure I would be better by today, as my symptoms were very minor and I usually recover very well. But I was a bad little girl and did not eat enough fresh foods, ate more sugar than a sick person should, and (for shame) stayed up late watching movies, even when I knew my inner clock wouldn’t let me sleep in. So here I am, missing my 13 mile training run. I also missed my 12 miler two weeks ago. I will try to recover and be a better little runner and get a long run in next weekend. I am trying to not freak out and believe my half marathon plans are ruined. I have 7 weeks until the race. Breath, in, out…..calm……whew, I think I’ll live.
On a happier note, I found out from the race director that they are providing honey stingers, my gel of choice! YAA!

Hope all of you are at least having new year success. Happy running.

Leave a Reply

