Goals: What and Why

This morning, as I nonchalantly warmed up for my long run of 10 miles, I was thinking about my running goals. Primarily my hope to run a marathon in February of the coming year. As I thought about it, I realized that’s just what a goal is.

A hope.

I was listening to the Josh Groban song “Remember When it Rained” and came to the line:

Tears of Hope Run Down My Skin

Humorously thinking of the saying “sweat is my fat cells crying!”, I thought of other things these fat-cell-tears could represent. I thought they represented my hard work, accomplishments, and running goals. Thus I produced the idea that these “tears” are tears produced of the hopes, or goals, I have as far as running goes. Yes, I was feeling uncommonly right-brained and artistic.

This hope starts when something inspires you. It inspires you to reach farther, push harder, and dream bigger. It doesn’t matter how old you are – all it takes is a spark and this hope ignites. The hope is that you too can do whatever it is that inspired you, even if it would require defying odds and stereotypes.

All this considered, I may have the goal to be the richest person. This, however, would be a rather arbitrary goal. For a goal to be functional and, honestly, feasible, one requires a reason. You have to ask why you want to accomplish this goal. What is it worth? What do you gain from its accomplishment? When you ask these questions and still want this goal, you know its right and justifiable.

So no matter what your goal, make sure you have reasons (and the right reasons at that!).

If you’re needing a goal, I have five tips for making, setting, and reaching a goal:

  1. Choose your top passion/hobby. You need to decide what of your hobbies/activities are worth the extra time. Otherwise, you might find you don’t like something enough to make sacrifices for it.
  2. Get Creative. What’s a way you’ve never used your hobby? What is the ultimate accomplishment in your mind for your passion? Go crazy!
  3. Decide if it’s really worth it. It usually is. But you must be certain you can stick to it when it gets hard, you miss out in some things, and it seams like no one else has to make sacrifices like you do/will have to.
  4. Make check points. Have mini goals and bench markers within you main goal. When you reach one, celebrate! Let others know and be proud of what you’ve accomplished.
  5. Be reasonable. Just don’t underestimate your abilities and determination.

At 16 and with a rather rocky running history (in the beginning, that is), I’ll hardly be the main candidate for a marathon.

But who set that stereotype?

Who says it is or has to be true? Who says it has to be followed?

I don’t care if anyone has said.

Because I’ll prove them wrong. I am strong. So are you. Don’t let anyone push you down. It’s not worth it.

Leave a Reply

