Year of Firsts: January

Long time no post! Sorry about that…..been busy and haven’t had much chance to get on the computer.

Well, I accomplished a first this month: I ran 13 miles!

I will back up…I was sick the first 2 weeks of January and then did a run on the 14th, which didn’t go all that great (I felt like I hadn’t run in a year!). I had lingering chest congestion and a slight yet unproductive cough. It was a bit better for my second run on the 16th but still there. Finally, when I felt healthy, I set out for 13 miles (sticking to a comfortable pace) on the 18th. I have missed both my previous planned 13 and 14 milers, so I was feeling worried and not so confident about my race. The beginning of the run was not bad, just OK. Half way I realized my lungs were totally clear! YES! The second was very enjoyable and I hit some faster paces. I also fueled really well with raisins and…..drumroll…..Snapple (peach)! 😛 I know, weird, but I didn’t have any Gatorade, so it worked. Very well, as a matter of fact. It has calmed my nerves to know I’ve run the distance, so nothing but smile from here on!

I’m also getting back with my diet….going pretty well, but boy did I take a break this Christmas. Whew! I’m being good about logging and weighing myself, which always helps.

I will try to post more in the near future (think weekend…..).

Leave a Reply

