My (Sort of) Super food + 1 More Week!

Hello runners!

This weekend is very crazy for me, so I’m posting early. On a non-running note, I’m looking forward to seeing The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug this weekend.

I have a favorite “super food”. Cocoa powder! I add it to smoothies and oatmeal all the time. When it’s not Dutch-processed, it’s a high fiber, high antioxidant packed addition. Just one tablespoon has only 10 calories, but packs in 2 grams of fiber, 10% of your daily iron needs and a gram of protein. I add it to just about any flavor of smoothie (banana peanut butter- http://community.runnersworld.com/topic/great-smoothie-recipe-try-it-  blueberry, etc. I’ve even added it to mango, which came out surprisingly good.) I usually use 1 1/2-2 tbsp. in one smoothie. The cool thing about frozen mango in a smoothie is it is very sweet, so all you need is plain, unsweetened yogurt, frozen mango, milk, and then as much cocoa powder as you like. Mmm….satisfy (most of) your chocolate cravings without the fat and sugar!

This is kind of blasphemy, but I find it hilarious and true:

10-commandments-of-runnig2

I have one week until my 10K. My goal is under 1:00 (a BIG milestone). I promised myself that after the race I get 2 of the delicious cookies they offer. Otherwise I only get one 🙂 The funny thing is, I technically met that goal in a speed workout yesterday! We will see how race day goes. It will be kind of weird because I’m training for a half so the race is just inserted into my training. I’ve always performed very well in this situation, so I’m not worried.

See you all next week!

Leave a Reply

