Long Run Recap – 11 Miles!

How’s the running y’all?

Well guess what….I ran 11 miles! That’s the farthest I’ve gone by a mile since this summer! Yes, it hurt but I really loved it. Maybe not the last few miles, considering I was running with a wet ear “warmer” headband which froze to the equivalent of ice packs when it’s below 20 outside. I’m not gonna lie-I feel awesome. Like I could be some little kids hero (I know, that’s pushing it). The elation as I finished was the kind of thing only other runners who have felt it can understand.

First thing I ate for recovery-hot chocolate frozen yogurt! A way to indulge yet have a good balance of simple carbs and protein for post-run recovery….enjoy!

RECIPE-Hot Chocolate Frozen Yogurt

  • 2  1/2 C Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 C. + 2 Tbsp. Hot Cocoa mix
  • 3/4 C. Small Marshmallows
  • 1/4 C. Semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips
  • 2 Tsp. Vanilla Extract

Combine yogurt and cocoa mix in a bowl. Add vanilla, marshmallows, and chips and stir. Put in ice cream maker and follow manufacturers descriptions or put in freezer safe bowl with lid overnight.

Mmm…

I also recovered with pumpkin spice tea. ‘Tis the season!

I think I’m going to focus on weight management but still keeping my diet as clean as possible until after Christmas. This is what helped me decide: http://www.runnersworld.com/nutrition-for-runners/how-to-avoid-holiday-weight-gain

Well tomorrow is my birthday! Happy birthday me!

Well I need to get to the homework…..until next time!

2 thoughts on “Long Run Recap – 11 Miles!

Leave a Reply

