Ah, relaxing at home….with pumpkin waffles!

Good morning all!

Today is the day my family will put up our Christmas tree! We never do black Friday shopping; we usually just stay home and hang out. My days plans consist mostly of decorating, practicing piano, and going to the gym for my strength training and cycling workout.

This morning was started with some of my favorite things: Pumpkin waffles and coffee!

Image

I originally got the recipe from Runners World, but I tweaked it and made up my own topping. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

Waffles:

  • 5 egg whites
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon OR 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon with 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 C. whole wheat white flour
  • 1/2 C. milk (you can use soy or almond, but I use regular 2%)
  • 1/4 C. (4 tablespoons) honey (I use local…..so much tastier!)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil

My Cinnamon Yogurt Topping:

  • 1/4 C. plain fat free greek yogurt (I usually use more like 1/3 C.) (I prefer Chobani brand)
  • 3/4 – 1 teaspoon real maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (you may want less if you’re not a big cinnamon fan)
  • 1 Tablespoon walnuts, crushed (optional)
  1. Beat egg whites on high until they form stiff peaks
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and then add wet ingredients, mixing until just blended
  3. Gently fold in egg whites until just combined
  4. Coat iron waffle with spray or butter (if needed….my waffle iron works fine without the butter 😉 ) and pour 1/2 C. batter in and cook (I didn’t really pay attention to how long it took; just a normal amount, i.e. a few minutes). When you cook them, lock the handle down. When they’re done and you unlock it, they will poof up 🙂 They’re very fluffy. Yum…
  5. While waffles are cooking, mix up the topping. When the waffles are done, spread topping between squares and on top and sprinkle crushed nuts over it. Enjoy! These, combined with the yogurt topping, are surprisingly filling and keep you full for a long time!

Nutritional information

Serving size: 1/2 C. batter

  • Calories: 150
  • Fat: 2.5 g
  • Carbs: 26.5 g
  • Fiber: 2.5 g
  • Protein: 6 g

Yogurt topping (1/4 C. yogurt) (information when using nuts in parenthesis):

  • Calories: 50 (100)
  • Fat: 0 g (5 g)
  • Carbs: 7 g (8 g)
  • Fiber: .5 g (1 g)
  • protein: 6 g (7 g)

Grand total…250 calories, 8 grams fat, 34 grams carbohydrates, 3.5 grams fiber (could be better, I know), and 13 grams protein!

I’m going to play with this recipe to see if I can’t make it more “pumpkiny” and maybe use more pumpkin pie spices.

Well, I know this post has nothing to do with running, but I just though I’d share this yummy recipe.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

